Western University EconomicsWestern Social Science

Money/Macro

Workshop Schedule 2017-2018

Program Director:

Jacob Short / Steve Williamson


First Term

Tuesday, May 23: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuxi Yao (Western)
"Accounting for the Decline in Homeownership Among the Young"

Monday, May 29: 3:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Aldo Sandoval (Western)
"The Gains from Trade in a Model of Import Intermediation"

Monday, May 29: 4:15 p.m., 4161 SSC

Francisco Adame (Western)
"Connecting Banking and Sovereign Risk, The Role of Bailouts"

Thursday, July 6: 12:00-1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Pedro Bento (Texas A&M University)
"Competition, Innovation, and the Number of Firms"

Tuesday, July 11: 12:00-1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Jacob Short (Western)
"Demographic Origins of the Decline in Labor's Share"
(with Andrew Glover)

Thursday, July 13: 12:00-1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Thibaut Duprey (Bank of Canada)
"Canadian Financial Stress and Macroeconomic Conditions"

Wednesday, August 30: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Xiaodong Zhu (University of Toronto)
"Trade, Migration and Productivity: A Quantitative Analysis of China"
(with Trevor Tombe)

Tuesday, September 12: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nicolas Roys (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
"Skill Prices, Occupations and Changes in the Wage Structure for Low Skilled Men"
(with Chris Taber)

Thursday, September 28: 1:00 -12:00 p.m., 4032 SSC

Pedro Martinez Alanis (Western University)
"Skill Prices, Occupations and Changes in the Wage Structure for Low Skilled Men"
Lunch

Thursday, October 5: 1:00 -12:00 p.m., 4032 SSC

Matthew Carew (Western University)
"Index Inclusion and CEO Transitions"
Lunch

Tuesday, October 24: 3:30 -5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Gajendran Raveendranathan (McMaster University)
"Unsecured Credit, Consumer Bankruptcy, and Welfare"

Tuesday, November 7: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Todd Schoellman (Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis)
"TBA"

Tuesday, November 28: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Matthew Rognlie (Northwestern University)
"The Intertemporal Keynesian Cross"
(with Adrien Auclert and Ludwig Straub)

Tuesday, December 5: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Daniel Sanches (Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia)
"TBA"
CANCELLED


Second Term

Tuesday, April 17: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Rubina Siddika (Western)
"TBA"

Tuesday, May 1: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Aldo Sandoval (Western)
"TBA"

Tuesday, May 8: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ziyu Zhang (Western)
"TBA"