Western University EconomicsWestern Social Science

Money/Macro

Workshop Schedule 2016-2017

Program Director:

Igor Livshits


First Term

Tuesday, May 10: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Fabrizio Perri - Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
"Unsustainable Exchange Rates"

Thursday, June 16: 12:00-1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuxi Yao - Western
"Change in Homeownership Rates and Educational Attainment"

Thursday, June 23: 12:00-1:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Samantha Black and Matthew Carew - Western
"TBA"
"The Competitive Effects of Horizontal Shareholding"

Monday, July 4: 2:30-4:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Brandon Malloy - Western
"Essays on International Economics: Decomposing Episodes of Large Growth in Bilateral Trade"
Departmental Thesis Defense

Thursday, July 14: 12:00-1:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Pedro Bento - Texas A&M University
"Misallocation, Establishment Size, and Productivity"
(with Diego Restuccia)

Friday, July 22: 12:00-1:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Youngmin Park - Western
"Essays on Human Capital and Inequality"
Departmental Thesis Defense

Thursday, August 4: 12:00-1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Jacob Short - Western
"The Age Distribution of Earnings and the Decline in Labor's Share"
(with Andy Glover)

Tuesday, September 20: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Bettina Brüeggemann - McMaster University
"Higher Taxes at the Top: The Role of Entrepreneurs"

Tuesday, October 4: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Tim Uy - University of Cambridge
"Self-Fulfilling Debt Restructuring"

Tuesday, October 25: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nathan Sussman - Hebrew University and Bank of Israel
"Has Inflation Targeting Become Less Credible? Oil Prices, Global Aggregate Demand and Inflation Expectations During the Global Financial Crisis"
(with Osnat Zohar)

Tuesday, November 8: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Pau Pujolas-Fons - McMaster University
"The Great Canadian Stagnation"
(with J. C. Conesa)

Tuesday, November 15: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Georg Duernecker - University of Mannheim
"Unbalanced Growth Slowdown"
(with Berthold Herrendorf and Ákos Valentinyi)

Tuesday, November 22: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Mark Bils - University of Rochester
"Misallocation or Mismeasurement?"
(with Peter Klenow and Cian Ruane)

Tuesday, November 29: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Jonathan Heathcote - Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
"College Pricing and Income Inequality"
(with Zhifeng Cai)



Second Term

Monday, February 27, 2016: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Julia Thomas - Ohio State University
CANCELLED

Tuesday, February 28, 2016: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Aubhik Khan - Ohio State University
CANCELLED

Tuesday, March 14, 2017: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

John Knowles - Simon Fraser Univesity
"TBA"

Tuesday, March 28, 2017: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ariel Zetlin-Jones - Carnegie Mellon University
"TBA"

Thursday, March 30, 2017: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Guido Menzio - University of Pennsylvania
"TBA"
Short-term Visitor

Friday, March 31, 2017: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Guido Menzio - University of Pennsylvania
"TBA"
Short-term Visitor

Tuesday, April 4: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Virgiliu Midrigan - New York University
CANCELLED