Western University EconomicsWestern Social Science

Applied Economics/Econometrics

Workshop Schedule 2017-2018

Program Director:

Nirav Mehta / David Rivers


First Term

Friday, May 12: 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

George Orlov (Western)
"Essays in Applied Microeconomics"
Departmental Thesis Defense

Friday, May 26: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuki Onozuka (Western)
"Basic Skills or Major-Specific Knowledge? Sources of Wage Penalties for Working Outside the Major Field of Study"
Labour Lunch

Friday, June 23: 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Eric Yao (Western)
"Bootstrapping Post-Lasso Estimator and Its Inference with Many Instruments"

Friday, June 23: 12:30 - 1:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Fidel Perez Macal (Western)
"Language Barriers to Human Capital Development"

Thursday, June 29: 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Sha (Sarah) Wang (Western)
"Speculation, A Destablizing Factor for Exchange Rate Movements"

Thursday, June 29: 12:30 - 1:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Fulei (Fred) Liu (Western)
"Extreme Risk Management During Financial Crisis"

Friday, August 4: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nail Kashaev (Western)
"Identification of Solution Concepts in Games of Complete Information"
(with Bruno Salcedo)

Tuesday, September 5: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Lidia Kosenkova (Pennsylvania State University)
"Nonparametric Inference in First Price Auctions under Non-Equilibrium Beliefs"

Wednesday, September 13: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Oksana Leukhina (McMaster University)
"Inequality and the Changing Role of Differential Fertility"
(with Michael Bar and Moshe Hazan)

Friday, September 15: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4107 SSC

Pedro Martinez Alanis (Western)
"The Spatial Economy and Drug Violence in Mexico:
A Local Labor Markets Model with Heterogeneous Firms
and Local Entry Costs"
Labour Lunch

Wednesday, September 20: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ivan Canay (Northwestern University)
"Approximate Permutation Tests and Induced Order Statistics in the Regression Discontinuity Design"
(with Vishal Kamat)

Wednesday, September 27: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Jack Porter (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
"Moment Inequalities for Multinomial Choice with Fixed Effects"
(with Ariel Pakes)

Wednesday, October 4: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Jonathan Williams (University of North Carolina)
"“Price Discrimination in International Airline Markets”"

Friday, October 20: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Mahdiyeh Entezarkheir (Huron College)
"TBA"
Labour Lunch

Wednesday, October 25: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Jason Blevins (Ohio State University)
"A Dynamic Discrete Choice Model of Reverse Mortgage Borrower Behavior"

Monday, October 30: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Mark Roberts (Penn State University)
"TBA"
Short-Term Visitor
Graduate Seminar

Tuesday, October 31: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Mark Roberts (Penn State University)
"The Dynamic Impact of R&D Investment on Productivity and Export Demand in Swedish Manufacturing"
Short-Term Visitor

Thursday, November 2: 11:30 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Harry Paarsch (University of Central Florida)
"HUI: A Case Study of A Sequential Double Auction Of Capital"

Wednesday, November 8: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Hiroaki Kaido (Boston University)
"Robust Likelihood-ratio Tests for Incomplete Economic Models”
(joint with Yi Zhang)

Friday, November 10: 12:00 - 1:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Martin Luccioni (Western University) 
"Group or Individual Teacher Bonus? An Estimation of the Potential Gains"
Labour Lunch 

Wednesday, November 15: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

David Blau (Ohio State University)
"Intergenerational Correlation in Family Structure: A New Look with Data from the NLSY79 Female Respondents and their Young Adult Children" 

Wednesday, November 22: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Stephane Bonhomme (University of Chicago)
"Discretizing Unobserved Heterogeneity

Thursday, November 23: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Richard Blundell (University College London)
"Children, Time Allocation and Consumption Insurance"

Friday, November 24: 10:30 a.m., -12:00p.m. 4161 SSC

Richard Blundell (University College London)
"Microeconomics and Consumer Behaviour"
Graduate Seminar

Wednesday, November 29: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Paul Ellickson (University of Rochester)
"TBA"

Wednesday, December 13: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

George-Levi Gayle (Washington University, St. Louis)
"TBA"

 


Second Term

Wednesday, March 14: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Julie Mortimer (Boston College)
"TBA"

Wednesday, March 21 (TBD): 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Robert Moffitt (Johns Hopkins University)
"TBA"

Thursday, March 22 (TBD): 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Robert Moffitt (Johns Hopkins University)
"TBA"

Friday, March 23 (TBD): 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Robert Moffitt (Johns Hopkins University)
"TBA"

Wednesday, March 28 (TBD): 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Peter Arcidiacono (Duke University)
"TBA"

Wednesday, April 4: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Martin Luccioni (Western)
"TBA"

Wednesday, April 11: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Dan Silverman (University of Michigan)
"TBA"

Wednesday, April 18: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Pedro Martinez (Western)
"TBA"

Wednesday, April 25: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Shannon Potter (Western)
"TBA"

Wednesday, May 2: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Eric Yao (Western)
"TBA"

Wednesday, May 9: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Phuong Vu (Western)
"TBA"

Wednesday, May 16: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Fred Liu (Western)
"TBA"

Wednesday, May 23: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Francisco Adame (Western)
"TBA"