Western University EconomicsWestern Social Science

Economic Theory

Workshop Schedule 2016-2017

Program Director:

Al Slivinski


First Term

Monday, May 2: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Navin Kartik (Columbia University)
"A Theorem on Bayesian Updating with Applications to Signaling Games"

Monday, August 29: 11L00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.., 4107 SSC

Peter Foltin (Western)
"Essays on Dynamic Contests"

Thursday, September 15: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nick Bedard (University of Technology, Sydney)
"Optimal Mechanisms for Selling a Public Good with Interdependent Values"

Monday, September 19: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Daniel Stone (Bowdoin College)
"Bias and Affective Polarization"

Monday, October 17: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Chris Cotton (Queen’s University)
"Clueless Politicians"
(with Cheng Li)

Monday, November 14: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

David Baron (Stanford Graduate School of Business)
"Lobbying Dynamics"

Monday, November 21: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Federico Echenique (California Institute of Technology)
"On Multiple Discount Rates"
(with Christopher P. Chambers)

Monday, December 5: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Laura Doval (Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics)
"Whether or not to Open Pandora's Box"


Second Term

Wednesday, March 22: 4:00-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Adam Rooney (Western)
"Technical and Perspective Skill in Strategic Interactions"

Monday, March 27: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Heikki Rantakiri (Simon Business School)
"Relational Influence"

Monday, April 10: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Anne-Katrin Roesler (University of Michigan)
"Private Learning and Exit Decisions in Collaboration"
(with Yingni Guo)

Thursday, April 13: 4:00-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Dillon Huddleston (Western)
"Sequential Dictatorship with Sticky Prices: A Differential Game Approach"

Tuesday, April 18: 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Deanna Walker (Western)
"Informal Hiring Patterns and Endogenous Job Contacts"
Departmental Thesis Defense

Monday, April 24: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuval Salant (Kellogg School of Management)
"Statistical Inference in Games" (Abstract)

Wednesday, April 26: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Vasiliki Skreta (University College London)
"A Lecture on Informed Sellers"
(Paper 1) (Paper 2)
(Short-term Visitor)

Thursday, April 27: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Vasiliki Skreta (University College London)
"Information Design Under Falsification"
(with Eduardo Perez-Richet)
(Short-term Visitor)

Monday, May 1: 4:00-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Minku Kang (Western)
"TBA"

Tuesday, May 2: 4:00-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Shannon Potter (Western)
"TBA"