Western University EconomicsWestern Social Science

Economic Theory

Workshop Schedule 2017-2018

Program Director:

Charles Zheng / Bruno Salcedo


First Term

Monday, May 1: 4:00-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Minku Kang (Western)
"Persuading Bayesian Learners: The Cost of Being Smarter"

Tuesday, May 2: 4:00-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Shannon Potter (Western)
"Social Welfare and Unequal Beliefs About the Return to Effort"

Wednesday, June 7: 2:00-3:30 p.m., 4161 SSC

Thomas Jeitschko (Michigan State University)
""Welfare Effects of Certification under Latent Adverse Selection"
(with Anthony Creane and Kyoungbo Sim)

Monday, September 11: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Shiran Rachmilevitch (University of Haifa)
"Bargaining with Periodic Participation Costs"
(joint with Emin Karagozoglu)

Monday, September 18: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Mohammad Arkbarpour (Stanford Graduate School of Business)
"Thickness and Information in Dynamic Matching Markets"
(joint with Shengwu Li and Shayan Oveis Gharan)

Monday, September 25: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ken Shotts (Stanford Graduate School of Business)
"Challengers and Electoral Accountability"
(joint with Scott Ashworth)

Monday, October 2: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Shengwu Li (Harvard University)
"Credible Mechanism Design"
(with Mohammad Akbarpour)

Monday, October 16: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Mehmet Ekmekci (Boston College)
"Costly Advice, Protests and Nonbinding Voting"
(with Stephan Lauermann) 

Monday, October 23: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Caroline Thomas (University of Texas at Austin)
"The Design of Credit Information Systems"
(joint with V. Bhaskar)

Monday, October 30: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

David Miller (University of Michigan)
"TBA"

Monday, November 13: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Joshua Mollner (Kellogg School of Management)
"TBA"


Second Term

Friday, March 5: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Larry Samuelson (Yale University)
"TBA"

Monday, March 26: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nicolas Klein (University of Montreal)
"TBA"

Thursday, March 29: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuliy Sannikov (Yale University)
"TBA"
Short-Term Visitor

Friday, March 30: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuliy Sannikov (Yale University)
"TBA"
Short-Term Visitor

Monday, April 2: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ron Siegel (Pennsylvania State University)
"TBA"

Monday, April 9: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Byung Soo Lee (Rotman School of Management)
"TBA"