Applied Economics/Econometrics

Workshop Schedule 2019-2020

Program Director:

Nail Kashaev / Lance Lochner 


Fall Term 2019

Wednesday, September 25: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Alfonso Flores-Lagunes (Syracuse University)
"Bounds on Average Treatment Effects with an Invalid Instrument, with an Application to the Oregon Health Insurance Experiment" 
Joint with X. Chen and C.A. Flores

Wednesday, October 2: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Aman Ullah (University of California - Riverside)
"A Journey in Search of Unknown 'True Model': Data Based Non-parametric Econometrics and Empirical Economics" 

Wednesday, October 30: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Youngki Shin (McMaster University)
"Factor-driven Two-regime Regression

Wednesday, November 13: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Yuichi Kitamura (Yale University)
"Methods for Nonparametric Counterfactual Analysis with (or without) Convex Structure" 

Wednesday, November 20: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nathaniel Baum-Snow (University of Toronto)
"Local Productivity Spillovers" 
Joint with Nicholas Gendron-Carrier and Ronni Pavan
RESCHEDULED

Wednesday, December 11: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Camilo Garcia-Jimeno (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
"The Political Economy of Immigration Enforcement: Conflict and Cooperation under Federalism" 


Winter Term 2020 

Wednesday, March 25: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Bulat Gafarov (University of Toronto)
"TBA"

Thursday, April 2: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Francesca Molinari (Cornell University)
"TBA"

Wednesday, April 8: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Nathaniel Baum-Snow (University of Toronto)
"Local Productivity Spillovers" 
Joint with Nicholas Gendron-Carrier and Ronni Pavan


Summer Term 2020

Tuesday, May 5: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ariel Pakes (Harvard University)
"TBA"
Short Term Visitor

Wednesday, May 6: 3:30-5:00 p.m., 4161 SSC

Ariel Pakes (Harvard University)
"TBA"
Short Term Visitor
Graduate Seminar