News and Announcements

| 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 |20192018 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | Archived Events


Economics Professor Featured in Bloomberg Article

Economics Professor, Terry Sicular was featured in a Bloomberg article on December 23, 2020. The article discusses the Chinese Communist Party's new pledge to fix the "demand side" of the economy and the subsequent expections in leadership. Sicular provides insight on China's struggle to increase consumption and demand-led growth. The full article "China Looks at Cutting Inequality in Order to Boost the Economy" can be found at Bloomberg News.

Economics Undergraduate Wins Major Scholarships

Second-year Honors student Brett Gugel has been awarded numerous scholarships in 2020-2021 for his academic accomplishments.  He has won the Richard J. Kohn Scholarship, Harold Crabtree Foundation Awards in the Economics of Industrial Organization, and the Faculty Association Scholarship.  Congratulations to Brett for these outstanding achievements!

Allen Wins 2020 Polanyi Prize

Assistant Professor Roy Allen was awarded the 2020 Polanyi Prize in Economic Science for his work in econometrics, specifically for work modelling a population’s future economic behaviour based on information from the past. The article on Allen’s major award can be found at Western News.

Economics Undergraduate Published in Paediatrics and Child Health

Congratulations to third year Western University Economics student Maximilian Pentland for publishing an article titled “Maximizing the impact of the Canada Child Benefit: Implications for clinicians and researchers” with Eyal Cohen, Astrid Guttmann, and Claire de Oliveira. Pentland's paper can be found in Paediatrics and Child Health, the official journal of the Canadian Paediatric Society

Economics Undergraduate Alumna Highly Commended Entrant

Congratulations to alumna Sherrie Cheng who submitted her Economics 3311F paper 'Innovation in China: Ownership, efficiency, and current innovation policy' to The Global Undergraduate Awards 2020 Programme.  Her paper was deemed a Highly Commended Entrant in the Economics category, therefore, judged as among the top 10% of entries submitted to that category out of 4,148 submissions.

Economics Undergraduate Students Win Honourable Award

Congratulations are extended to Economics undergraduate students, Sherrie Cheng and Jay Zhao-Murray on their 4400 undergraduate thesis, “Can Google Searches Predict Unemployment in Canada?”. Cheng and Zhao-Murray's paper was selected by the Canadian Economic Association and Bank of Canada to be presented at the Undergraduate Research Award seminar on June 1, 2020. 

Tiff Macklem (Western Ph.D. 1989) Named as Future Governor of the Bank of Canada

Tiff Macklem (Western Economics Ph.D. 1989) has been named the new Bank of Canada Governor by Finance Minister Bill Morneau. Macklem, former Senior Deputy Governor and Chief Operating Officer at the Bank of Canada, was appointed dean of the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto in May 2014. Macklem has remained closely involved in nearly all of the Bank's major initiatives. He will replace Stephen Poloz (Western Economics M.A 1979, Ph.D. 1982), beginning June 3, 2020. Globe and Mail Announcement and Western News

Bowlus Predicts Economic Future From Pandemic

Professor Bowlus’ prediction for Canada’s economic future during the COVID-19 pandemic is being higlighted by Western News. Bowlus estimates we will see a major increase in unemployment rates and the longer-term economic implications will worsen as the situation continues. The article, "Experts: Pandemic making economic future uncertain" can be found at Western News.

Economics Teaching Award Winners

Congratulations are extended to this year’s teaching award recipients. Juan Carlos Hatchondo was voted Graduate Professor of the Year by the Economics graduate students. Peter Streufert was voted Undergraduate Professor of the Year by the Economics undergraduate students. Anastasiia Suvorova was voted the Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year. Lucas Lalonde and Benjamin Sas Trakinsky are the recipients of the Tutorial Leader of the Year award.